Can someone recommend a PLC (inexpensive & datalogging)

neech

Hello all, love the forum.

So, I'm not really a PLC programmer... I'm an EE with lots of experience with FPGAs and programming, but unfortunately not familiar with PLC hardware other than what I've picked up in the last week.

Anyway, I've inherited a project finding and programming a PLC for a customer (not something we usually do, just a random project). The HW is fairly simple, about 10 digital inputs, 10 digital outputs to drive external relays, a few analog inputs and a few RTD/ThermoC inputs. And they need datalogging.

I had the Allen Bradley ML1100 picked out with 3 Expansion IO and a RedLion HMI.. After talking to the customer today, he announced that he needs to stay around the $1000 mark for the PLC/HMI HW. So that's out of the question.

Can anyone recommend a place to look for a cheaper PLC/HMI system that would still be able to do datalogging? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks a lot!
Mike

Last edited:
No-Quote that one, unless it is just to stay busy for a while. If you find hardware it will likely take a LOT more time to engineer and program reliably, and then the call backs will drain additional resources.
JMHO of course.

I’d look at the Pico controllers. A 12 digital input/6 relay output controller with I/O expansion ability retails for $367

You might want to look at the AB Micro800 series and a Panelview Component HMI, although I'm not sure about any datalogging.
Yes, for a $1000 budget, the Micro800 is a possibility, as is the Automation Direct CLICK PLC. If the analog inputs only need measuring and logging, then there are many more low-cost digital-I/O-only PLCs that would work (with a separate data-logging device). If the analog inputs are used to make decisions in the PLC program, then you must have a PLC with analog input capability, which means more money.