Devicenet

Rahul3005

Hello ,

How are you guys doing ?

I am planning a visit to old site of ours , the site has been alread commissioned , they have L31 PLC and have a 1769-SDN communicating with some devices on devicenet network.

I have to make some changes in messaging instruction , which i think i have to do offline and then download the program to PLC .
how do i upload the devicenet backup ? what are the things i have to keep in mind before ,download my PLC program ? Is it neccessary to link .dnt file with rslogix 5000 program ? what verion of RsNetworx will i need ?

Please help !!!!

I am completely new to the world of devicenet.

PLC rev 17.00

I believe you will need to have RSLinx for Device net loaded on you computer.
In some version of Logix5000 and Studio5000 it is included in the package i would check before going on site
Also i don't know if that's a pass through the main processor or if you need a 1770-KFD to set up the DeviceNet scanner
It's been a long time since i setup Devienet and I picked up my hardware and RSLinx
for Devicenet before Logix5000 was interdouced

Check with techconnect they can tell you exactly what you need

Hi there,

Uploading from the scanner is pretty easy. Once you open RSNetworx, you can get online with the controller from there using the "Online" button. It looks just like the RSWho button that you'll find on Studio or Linx. So you'll obviously need RSLinx for this as well. Navigate to the controller and then to the DeviceNet scanner that way. Regarding versions of RSNetworx, I think if you have the latest version that it is backwards compatible with older versions, but don't quote me on that. I have V28.01.00 and I have never had trouble getting online with a DeviceNet scanner. I don't know what version Rockwell is up to at this point though.