GuardLogix "All Safe" Bit to Control Standard Output

pediepit

I have a GuardLogix PLC with safety inputs of HMI, Estops, Light Curtains, and Gates. Is it considered safe for the safety program to monitor the inputs and control one "All Safe" bit and then use that bit in the standard program? Like an XIC in the rungs with the standard outputs. An example is attached. I'm a little new to the safe PLC topic. Thanks

AllSafe.png

Is the output for indication only or does it have an effect on something requiring safety control.

If the latter, what you're doing is a no go.

You must have clear delineation between safety and non-safety functions.

Take the example of tank with an agitator in it. The tank may have an emergency stop next to it, and a guard switch on the lid. Either of those must stop the agitator. The agitator has a standard motor contactor to start and stop it, and the power supply to that contactor comes via a pair of safety contactors.

The monitoring of the emergency stop and guard switch must be done exclusively by the safety code.

The energisation and de-energisation of the safety contactors, when emergency stop or guard switch are activated, must be done exclusively by the safety code.

The monitoring of those safety contactors to ensure they are operating correctly must be done exclusively by the safety code.