Home Control Projects

kmuj

Hi There,

I am looking to do some PLC based control projects at home and am currently at the stage of choosing a PLC. I do not require a large number of IO but am looking for something affordable and fast.

I would like to be able to implement custom (advanced) control algorithms in hard real time. I would also like to plot data (inputs/outputs) on a PC as it is happening, although the plotting does not have to be in hard real time.

I'm not very experienced in PLCs but am thinking PLC because (correct me if i'm wrong) micro controllers require some significant programming just to set it up (comms, IO, interrupts etc). Also I thought about using a PC but to achieve hard real time seems like too much trouble.

I would like to know if PLCs are indeed suited for this and if so any recommendations would much appreciated.

Thank You,
kmuj

It depends on what "home projects" that you plan to do. For most of the ones I would want to do, a PLC would be suitable. If you want to view data on a PC, you may need additional software that is designed to work with the specific PLC.

First determine how much you are willing to pay, then how many inputs and outputs. Then look at PLC specifications and prices. Remember, the total cost also will include the necessary programming software to run the PLC, cables, manuals, and Input and Output add-on modules.

The type of projects I was thinking of include magnetic levitation, inverted pendulums, switching power supplies, ball and plate... I don't think these type of projects require more than a few inputs and outputs so that isn't really a concern.

I didn't really want to spend over 800 AUD. Do you think this is possible?

Some options.