L32E placing negative value in timer ACC

Andrew_W

Afternoon Guru's

I have a unique problem I haven't encountered before and need some advice. I've been called out to a remote plant that I've never worked on before due to a train not running, upon my arrival I found the processor a L32E version 16.20 faulted. When I connect to the processor I find a type 4 code 34 fault on one of the timers. During the exicution of the program the .ACC value on the timer randomly jumps between 0 and -2147483640. After searching the program the only place that the timer, and any associated variables are referenced is in the one line of code, and as far as I can tell there is no connection to either an HMI, or any other device. What would cause this error, and what can I do to elminate it and get this plant running?

Thank's for any insight you may have

Andrew

I cant think of any reason why that would happen. I am sure Ken or George will have an idea.

One thought I had on how to get this going again could you just create a new tag and a new timer for the one that is messing up? That is if the code doesn't use some element of the timer a million times. Might get you moving faster.

That value is unlikely to be random;

-2147483640 in decimal =
80000008 in hexadecimal =
1000000000001000 in binary

Any chance they're moving a value into the .PRE of that timer but mis-using a COP instruction ?

Is this a standalone TIMER type tag, or part of a TIMER[x] array ?

I agree that if it's a mis-behaving HMI driver that it will be very hard to find.

Creating an all-new tag for that timer will let you see if the old tag keeps changing, while moving the timer function to a new tag that should be unaffected.

Is the timer tag part of a UDT (or inside an Add On Instruction)?

If you inhibit all Programs, does the value still change? Knowing this could exclude the PLC logic being the cause.