Logix question (getting online)

whippee2

Hello all,

Havent visited in a while. Still trying to learn plcs. I currently work in manufacturing and deal with omron, mitsubishi, AB and Siemens plcs.
I have a question about getting on line with a Micrologix (AB) plc. The micrologix is connected to the main PlC, which is AB RS logix 500, via the 232 connection. There is no other port on the MicroLogix plc. There are a serious of other remote plc bases connected to the main plc, these are on each of the print units. When I run RSlinx, i can connect to the main plc and can see the other remote bases, but i cant see the MIcrologix plc. I cant disconnect the 232 link while the machine is running or the machine will stop (as this is a jam detector PLC). Can anyone shed a bit of light on this?

BTW, I connect to the main plc via a 1785 (i think thats what it is) cable to a PMCK card in the laptop.

So I guess my question is, how do i monitor the Micro plc while they are running. I need to get online with it, and dont know what I need to do to achieve this.
Thanks for reading, hopefully someone can help me out.

Thanks
Whippee2

Not quit enough info.
What Micrologix do you have and what protocol is its port set for?
RSLogix500 is software used to program Microloigx, SLC500 controllers.
What is the main PLC? ( SLC5/01,02,03,04,05) What protocol is used between the Micrologix and the main PLC. What protocol are you using to connect to the main PLC? And what port?

thanks for reply, I will get the rest of the info when I go to work this afternoon.
How can i check the protocol of the port on the Micro?
Sorry forgot to mention that the main PLC is a SLC 5 ( I will double check tonight tho)
Regarding the protocol, is this the means of communication?
I will definetly get back.
thanks
Whippee

To check the protocol open the offline file (your .RSP file) and look at the channel configuration. For both the Micro and your SLC5???.