Mitsubishi Data Access Unit FX-10DU-E program?

saucebox

Hello, all, total noob here hoping for a little guidance. I bought a new piece of printing equipment that has a Mitsubishi PLC and this Data Access Unit. The Data Access Unit has a cracked screen, and I'm going to try and replace the LCD. I'm told that it contains a program, though, and I'd like to download that before working on it, if possible, in case I have to replace it altogether. I have GX Developer, and I was able to download the program from the PLC, but the software won't recognize this Data Access Unit. Is a program on this type of unit downloadable at all, and if so, what software/method would I use?

Thanks for looking
-Robert

There was software for it but I have long forgotten what it is called and it would only run on Windows 95 through a real serial port.
When windows moved to windows 98 and up and laptops stopped including real serial ports, it would not communicate at all through serial to USB adapters.
The E series HMI's took over.
So to retrieve the program out of it is now next to impossible.
If you find you need to often change values in the plc program - then you could change them via GX-DEV (for now)
But that isn't for a novice.
And - unless the HMI uses buttons to start the machine or some other input function, the program in the HMI is passive.
Meaning it will run without it.
If it was me, I would upgrade the HMI to a modern one and work out which buttons and values need to be programmed into it.

Ah, ok, thanks. This all makes sense. I saw that it was programmable through the buttons, but figured there HAD to be a more efficient way to go about it. And yes, the machine runs without it. I'll see if I can fix it, and then maybe do what you suggest, Ron, and find a new unit that will work instead. Are HMI's all basically interchangable, other than the form factor and the hard buttons?