Motion Controller Brand Discussion

Hi,

I have a Master Thesis to write and my topic is Vertical Bag Packing Machine with continuous cycle. I am almost done with the mechanical design and I am starting to think about the electronics and control now.

As an example for my project I reference to this machine:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sqY90Wv1peQ&t=22s

Let me briefly explain what I found out about the motion of these machine kinds. The most important is that the motors that pull the foil have to be masters for the motor moving the gantry and the lower arm that holds the bag. Therefore the gantry motor and the lower arm motor have to synchronized to the foil motor.

I can think of one function that can achieve this - it is CAM function. Creating a CAM table with some points of the master motor and the corresponding ones on the slaves.

Some words regrading the controller that will do all the logic. My first thought was SIEMENS SIMOTION family but due to the long delivery time I kind of think to stick to another brand like DELTA, LS Electric, FATEK or VECTOR(Chinese one).

Another thing is that I tend to choose a PLC based motion controller since the PC based motion controller have quite more many resources which I do not need and also are quite costly.

My questions are:

1. Am I on the right track about using CAM, or perhaps there is another, easier and simpler method?

2. Now regarding the controller, do I really need a motion controller for this task or a normal PLC with capabilities of controlling couple of motors will do? Which brand of the above mentioned would you suggest?

Best Regards
Konstantin Kolev

My questions are:

1. Am I on the right track about using CAM, or perhaps there is another, easier and simpler method?
A CAM would be the most straight forward.