Operator Panel on Android Tablet

marvis

Hello everyone,

we need to use android tablets that simulate Rockwell's panel views (tablets will be replaced by hmi which are having very long delivery times).

I know, FactoryTalk ViewPoint, but licensing is very expensive and if possible we would like to avoid that expense.

Is there a cheaper way to handle this?
That is to have an operator panel directly on the android tablet that communicates and works with a Rockwell plc?

Thanks.

Hi Marvis,
I am no expert but I have trialled connecting an Android tablet to mimic a Panelview Plus for a client. From memory the runtime file ".mer" needs to be created with Version 8.1 or above. When creating the runtime, there is a box to select that allows a Tablet to access the panelview plus builtin webserver. Both devices need to be on the same network, or IT needs to work their magic. I haven't got FactoryTalk ME open, but the tick box is clearly labeled. I hope this helps.
Woolie

I think the problem is that the OP doesn't have the Panelviews yet, and they are looking for a short term solution using a tablet until these arrive.

I'd cancel the Panelview order... they're junk anyway, and order a copy of Ignition. You can have multiple HTML5 clients connected to the one server with the Perspective module, and i bet you'll get much more out of it in terms of usability and performance.

If you want to run your PanelView application, you will need a physical PanelView or the runtime license on a PC. I think most PanelViews will do a VNC server you could remote to from a tablet. Even an old one with a broken screen could potentially work as a server. I have not messed with ViewPoint, and the one time I messed with VNC on a PVP7 it seemed a bit flaky. Runtime on a PC should work well with VNC or Remote Desktop.