Problems with 1747-UIC and 5/02

netquirk

I am an instructor at a technical school and am teaching control systems. The school bought AB 1747-demo units which consist of a SLC 5/02, 2 Inputs and one output unit prewired to switches and lights. Programming is via RSLogix. The problem is I have been totaly unsuccessful in establishing communications between the PC and the PLC. We have 1747-UICs (early verison A's) I have tried this with several UICs and several 5/02s (Particulalr with the track record I have heard with the early UIC)

When I connect everything up I get the OK light and when RSlinx is running the USB light blinks and the DH485 blinks. The Comm light on the 5/02 occasionaly blinks (very low intensity) I am using staight-thru Ethernet cables. I have reviewed he AB website and the posting on this web site and tried everything.

Details:
UIC com port 5 and 7
5/02 1747-l524 ser C
1747-UIC Ser A, Rev A
Default settings for Comm ports 1900/n/1
RSLinx Lite 1.7.62
RSLogix Starter 6.10.10

Even though the DF1 Full Duplex driver hasn't changed much since the release of RSLinx, I'd suggest updating that 1.7 (that's about five years old) to the current 2.50 release. RSLinx Lite is a free download that doesn't require a support license, though it's a fairly big download (PM me if you want a CD).

I can't seem to find my UIC around the desk. Anybody seen it ?

Hi! I am not an expert in this field, but I was working with FPGAs and I bought a "teaching kit", as yours. I had a problem with the FPGA because i couldn´t load the program... Maybe the problem is the hardware of the kit, but it is only a suggestion....

netquirk said:
...When I connect everything up I get the OK light and when RSlinx is running the USB light blinks and the DH485 blinks. The Comm light on the 5/02 occasionaly blinks (very low intensity) I am using staight-thru Ethernet cables. I have reviewed he AB website and the posting on this web site and tried everything...

I have had this scenario if: