RSView Button Greyed out on PV+1000

virgilio

I'm a little confused where to begin with this project. I've taken CCv204A FT View ME and PV+, but this is my first time trying to fix an HMI, and this HMI is running really old software. I'm a bit lost.

On my laptop, which is running RSView Studio on WinXP, the button looks fine. I attached a screenshot called (greyedOut.png). Pressing it should open a popup with more options (see attachment called "popup.png"). The link to that popup are in the properties, (see attachment "props.png")

On the PV+ HMI the button is greyed out and does not respond to button taps.

What could be causing it to be greyed out?

greyedOut.PNG props.PNG popup.PNG

I pulled the .mer from the HMI, and I'd like to just download the version that looks like it is working. But I'm not sure that the version on my laptop is complete, and I don't think I can restore that .mer to a working state.

How can I be sure that the version on the HMI is not lost, and I can recover it if I download from my laptop and it turns out to be old/wrong version?

When I right-click "Tag Substitution" I see that there is a tag associated with that button:

{::[LOAD AUTOCLAVE]B15:72/2}

But this is just the option to replace the tag with something else. I want to see what the state of the tag is, of course to chase it out.

How can I see where that tag is, and why isn't it obvious what tag is associated with that button?

When I right-click "Tag Substitution" I see that there is a tag associated with that button:

{::[LOAD AUTOCLAVE]B15:72/2}

But this is just the option to replace the tag with something else. I want to see what the state of the tag is, of course to chase it out.

How can I see where that tag is, and why isn't it obvious what tag is associated with that button?

That is Logix 500 (or 5) style addressing, suggesting that the PLC being read from does not use tag-based addressing.