Siemens S7/TIA v16: How do I see the digital value of AI sensor (4-20mA)?...

Mas01

I'm new to S7/TIA.
There's no devices connected to the PLC yet. I've got a laser measurement sensor (Micro-Epsilon optoNCDT 1220). From the paperwork, it's a 2-wire device (red +24V, White 0V current output, I think). My question is not so much about wiring it ( I have the diagram for that from the manual, see pic)...but if I physically connect it to Channel 0, how do I configure ch0 for a 4-20mA input (as opposed to say 0-5V) in the software? Ultimately, I want to measure the distance from the sensor head to the object directly in front of it, and monitor the value (at least the raw digital value) on TIA software. Thanks, and sorry for the basic question - I'll also see if there's any online videos w.r.t. this question.

Analogue Input module model.png Capture3.PNG IMG_20230615_142421.jpg IMG_20230615_142221.jpg

Last edited:
Wow, configuring the AI channels in S7 was painless compared to the ANALOGUES hex addressing/channel settings on Mitsubishi-Q.
I need to inject a current from a Fluke or similar to test the range of values...4mA=0, 20mA=27,648.

Capture3.jpg

Wow, configuring the AI channels in S7 was painless compared to the ANALOGUES hex addressing/channel settings on Mitsubishi-Q.
I need to inject a current from a Fluke or similar to test the range of values...4mA=0, 20mA=27,648.

The PLC has Norm_X and Scale_X blocks to help you turn that into engineering units, by the way.

Norm_X takes a range and normalizes it to a real between 0.0 and 1.0, then Scale_X takes a value between 0.0 and 1.0 and scales it into whatever range you choose.

Or, ya know, you can math it out yourself. In theory, it's easy; in practice I usually have better things to do, and just use the blocks. Hint: If you're mathing it out yourself, you can add one rung of SCL via the right click menu, which is way simpler than trying to use a mishmash of add/mul/div/etc blocks.