SLC5/03 to Bar Code Scanner

Leeroy

I'm having troubles connecting to a honeywell xenon 1902 bar code scanner to my slc5/03 plc. I'm using an rs232 cable going to the channel 0 port and then channel 1 right now is just used to connect to the PC. I've matched up the baud rate, data bits and handshaking so that both the scanner and plc are identical but I still can't seem to establish a connection.

The purpose of the bar code scanner is once the scanner has read a bardcode, it will send data to the plc.

Now I am fairly new to doing communication/networking so maybe there is something I'm missing. If I do establish a connection where do the data bits get stored to and how can I tell if I do have a connection established?

As you can tell I'm fairly new to this :ROFLMAO:

When I have to do custom serial communications with a PLC, I normally start out using a terminal program with a PC to prove my cable(s) and get a look at the data right up front.

Make sure the reader is spitting out chunks you can "see" in hyperterminal or RealTerm, and then examine the cable pin out carefully before adapting that set up to the SLC.

A 5/03 serial port (CH0) can be set for DF1 protocol, or User (ASCII) mode. Unless your barcode reader speaks DF1 (rare) you will need to be sure the port is set up for ASCII mode.

If you can, zip and post the .rss file for the SLC, and as many details about the other hardware you're using (links to manuals are always nice).

And, welcome to the forum!
Paul

Looks like you have specifed user (ASCII) mode in the SLC already and the baud rate is set to 1200.

The scanner appears (based on a quick scan of the manual) to default to 9600 baud and one way it can be changed is by scanning special codes.