Speed Input on Powerflex 755

Smell5933

Hello,

I am new to the PLC world and I have a project where I am using a powerflex 755 drive. This is a compact Logix controller. I need help writing the code that will tell the drive what speed to run. An input from the touchscreen will be in FPM I will then translate the FPM to the drive. What is the best way to go about doing this? I will be sending the signal via Analog output to the 755's 22 series input module, specifically the Speed reference inputs Ai0- and Ai0+. The analog card is a 1768-OF8V. Let me know if you have any information that can help me. I appreciate the help.

Seems rather silly to me to be in possession of a controller with Ethernet capabilities, and a VFD with native Ethernet communications, and yet use hard wired analog I/O to control the drive. But that's just me.

First you will need a scaling factor to convert FPM to RPM in your specific machine, then once you know that, you scale the desired RPM to the motor nameplate RPM (slip speed) to get a percent of full speed, then set the analog output of the PLC to equal the percent motor speed you want. You can also do much of this inside of the 755, so you will have to decide first where you want the decisions to take place. Doing it in the PLC means that changing the drive out is easier, because the replacement drive just has to follow the analog signal from the PLC. Doing it inside of the drive however means that if the PLC dies, you can manually run the motor from the keypad of the drive with the same effect. Only you can assess which is better for your machine / user application, but you will have to start there.

View attachment 33125jraef is correct. I would look into using Ethernet/IP to communicate the speed reference to the VFD.
I just did a job with 3)753 drives and was really freaking out about how to make it all work. It turned out to be way easier than I thought.