Zelio FBD question ( newbie)

Zimmer

Lifetime Supporting Member
Bit of a newbie here, be gentle :D
Playing here with a Telemecanique/Schneider Zelio unit.
Can manage ladder program, but totally new to this FBD language but would like to give it a go, so was thinking a practical example like I would use may be the best way to learn.

Example:

If I had two pumps say Q1 and Q2
controlled by 3 float switches with normally open contacts

I1 bottom float switch
I2 middle float switch
I3 top level float switch

When water level reaches I1, i.e contact I1 closes no pump switcheon.s .
When water level reaches I2, i.e contact I2 closes, pump 1 (Q1) switches ON
When water level reaches I3, i.e contact I3 closes pump 2 (Q2) also switches ON
When water level falls below I1 i.e contact I1 opens, both pumps switch OFF

I have figured out how to get the lcd screen to display whatever I like, but was wondering if anyone give me an idea of writing the above example in "good" FBD.

Last edited:
Well its difficult to say what will be a "good" program. if it works and works safely with good comments then who is to say that it isnt a good program. basically you will use the "and" and "or" blocks to get this functioning. paste what you have done and we will give you pointers

Thanks for the reply, haven't done anything with FBD at all yet.
I used the above example because I remember doing a ladder version once upon a time.
Will psych myself up for an attempt with FBD shortly. :ROFLMAO:

OK.
Today, I did out a ladder version of the example, I used above.
In the above example, when input 1 "closes", and input 2 "closes" then output 1 is activated and remains activated until input 1 "opens".
How do I do that using FBD.
Thanks

screen-capture-31.jpg

Hi,

Have a look at the attached. I think i have translated it correct to FBD.

However I would have done the programming of this type of function in ladder since i think FBD gets a bit like spagethi in Zelio.