Programming standards

codedRed

I'm a new programmer that was promoted from a technician. I want to have a set of rules to follow so that my programming is generally setup the same and so that there will be no complaints of sloppiness in the future by co-workers. Does anyone have a recommendation? All of our PLCs are Rockwell if that helps.

so that there will be no complaints of sloppiness in the future by co-workers...

The only way this is possible is if you work for yourself and by yourself, then you must also password protect the program so your customer will never see it.... and if your wife walks up behind you make sure you shut off the screen so she can not see it either

Then and only then... no one will complain, other than yourself

It seems like the obvious place to start is by asking your boss this question.

If your facility doesn’t have any standards then you’ll have to start by deciding whether to use pure relay logic, STL, statement list, etc.

Good luck.

I'm a new programmer that was promoted from a technician. I want to have a set of rules to follow so that my programming is generally setup the same and so that there will be no complaints of sloppiness in the future by co-workers. Does anyone have a recommendation? All of our PLCs are Rockwell if that helps.

Here are a couple Siemens guidelines; Programming Guidelines and Programming Style Guide.

And this link is for PLCopen guidelines. Most relevant to your question is their "PLCopen Coding Guidleines" which is right at the top of this page. When you click on the link you will get a page to enter some information and a "Submit" button, you will still be routed to the document if you do not fill out the information and click submit.

And there's IEC61131-3 which I understand those guidelines are based on, and ISA101 for HMI development.
These should keep you busy for a while.

Last edited: