Analog Input/Output Simulation software

Irish

Hi all! I am working on devoloping a PLC program with limited PLC experience. The machine is relatively simple pressure testing machine, with 6 digital inputs, and one analog 4-20ma input. It has 9 digital outputs, and one analog 4-20ma output. I also want to include a Panelview, but I'll do that at a later date..right now I'm focusing on the PLC.

I have RSlogix 500 software, but am new to it. I downloaded logixPro 500 software to practice with before I write the actual program. My problem is that it does not do analog inputs or outputs, and this is the main part that I am fuzzy about. Is there any training software I could use to familiarize myself with this?

I know I could just write the program in RSLogix 500, but I do not have the PLC on had yet, and as stated, I'm very new to this...I've been using the LogixPro software to test my program literally rung by rung.

Sorry for the long winded post, and thanks in advance for all your help!

I believe that RSLogix500 Emulate is now a free download:
http://www.ab.com/linked/programmablecontrol/plc/micrologix/downloads.html
(About the middle of the page)

You can use RSLogix500 Emulate as a virtual PLC...then go ahead and start writing your program with RSLogix500.

Note that RSLogix500 Emulate will not emulate PID loops and has a handful of other minor limitations.

There is also a quick start guide for setting up the emulator driver, starting RSLogix500 Emulate and setting it up to run the program.

One neat feature with RSLogix500 Emulate, is that you can create Debug files (both data files and ladder files) that will run only when opened by RSLogix500 Emulate, and you can leave them in your program. When you download the file to a real PLC, those debug files are skipped.

You can use the debug files to simulate what the machine is supposed to do...