What is your job title?

Goody

I know it's been asked before but as I get older it is becoming harder to give an accurate title to people that aren't in the 'trade'

It was highlighted today when I was invited by email to a SCADA seminar.

There was a drop-down box in which you had to select your job title.

In my case, first I was an installation electrician that passed all his exams - but electrician doesn't cut it as people think you put lights and sockets in.

Then I was a maintenance electrician - but that is sort of passive as people think you only mend things that are broken.

Then I programmed PLC's - but again they think you are like a car mechanic that just plugs in a diagnostic device and the thing tells you the problem with no effort on your part.

Then of course - we are now onto designing, building, programming and 'cadd'ing complicated systems from scratch.
There isn't an accurate description for that. (or one that anyone understands)

There is automation systems engineer: What does that mean?

System(s) integrator ???

Mechatronic seems to crop up reguarly (what??)

I see Disney World advertises for 'Imagineers' (give me strength)

Not only that, I have paid for advertising of my services on the internet but the categories are too vague or misleading. If I go under electrical services I am asked to wire sockets. If I try for PLC programmer (which is rare that, that category exists) I am confused with IT programmers.

What are we called? the dogsbodies that start from a blank page and do everything until we have a perfectly operating 'system' ?

I'm a 'Control Systems Engineer', both because I think that is concise and because that's what it says on my professional license.

I'd stick 'Process' or 'Electrical' or 'Machine' on the front if you're advertising or looking for a job.