Job Title

dronai

Curious, What is your background ? seems that many Electricians I know, aren't really PLC programmers. They have an understanding for troubleshooting only.

Are most PLC programmers Engineers ?

Are there any Electricians ?

Last edited:
I have been a maintenance technician or electrician working for a single company, and the person doing all of the programming for that facility. I guess that made me the in-house PLC programmer. Now, working for a systems integrator, doing PLC programming for many different companies, I am now the contracted PLC programmer.
I would say most in-house PLC programmers are in the 2 year degree programming class, while most out-of-house (contractor)PLC programmers tend to be in the 4 year degree programming class. From my experience.

My job title is Electrical Engineer. I have a BS in EE and my Journeyman Electrician license (still working on the Master). I do panel layout/design, wiring, process design, PLC programming, pneumatic/hydraulic design and installation and the upgrades and troubleshooting later in life. I'm an in house engineer for a relatively small company. Chose to work here because of how close it was to where I live.

I have been a maintenance technician or electrician working for a single company, and the person doing all of the programming for that facility. I guess that made me the in-house PLC programmer. Now, working for a systems integrator, doing PLC programming for many different companies, I am now the contracted PLC programmer.
I would say most in-house PLC programmers are in the 2 year degree programming class, while most out-of-house (contractor)PLC programmers tend to be in the 4 year degree programming class. From my experience.

First off, thanks for the reply

So you don't do any electrical now right ?

Are you talking about an 2 yr AA degree in computer programming ? or BS 4 yr degree ?