You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 31st, 2017, 12:21 PM   #31
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,495
For those cases where the hardware you need to connect to was current when an RS232 serial COM port was the state of the art, you may need to maintain a computer that was state of the art at the same time. As I suggested in an earlier post the quest for a one-size-fits-all solution using today's technology may be overly ambitious.
That being said, you can carve out a lucrative niche for yourself by being the person on the leading edge of obsolete technology. I have had several good gigs supporting the old stuff.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2017, 12:23 PM   #32
strantor
Member
United States

strantor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: katy tx
Posts: 244
I did manage to find a brand new laptop (See attached) with decent specs and a serial port for around $1k (with no OS).
Attached Files
File Type: pdf HP Probook 655 G3.pdf (296.9 KB, 25 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2017, 01:28 PM   #33
strantor
Member
United States

strantor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: katy tx
Posts: 244
Never mind, that brand new laptop I linked to is slower than my existing old laptop with serial port. My "old" (typing this message on it now) is a 2012 HP Elitebook 8570p with I5-3230 (Dual Core 2.6GHz) processor. The Probook 655 G3 I posted, is a 2017 model with AMD PRO A10-8730B (quad core 2.4GHz)

The Quad core AMD processor has a benchmark score of 3,917.

My 6 y/o I5 processor has a benchmark score of 3930.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2017, 02:06 PM   #34
strantor
Member
United States

strantor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: katy tx
Posts: 244
I pulled the trigger on a 16gb ram package for my "retro" Elitebook. The decision not to spend >$1k was easy to make. Hopefully quadrupling the ram will enable the old girl to run multiple copies of herself inside VMs.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2017, 03:17 PM   #35
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,559
Im sure you will do fine with your decision

I still carry a couple laptops just because all software does not play well together and I run a VM on my Windows 10 machine but I carry a Dell e5500 that has a real port... cheap ebay

Also you can find support here for MANY work arounds

PM me your address if you want one of my USB adapters... no charge, they work great im sure you will be happy with it

Happy New Year
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2017, 07:41 PM   #36
Pete.S.
Member
United States

Pete.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fl
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by strantor View Post
I pulled the trigger on a 16gb ram package for my "retro" Elitebook. The decision not to spend >$1k was easy to make. Hopefully quadrupling the ram will enable the old girl to run multiple copies of herself inside VMs.
Good choice but you might need a larger drive too. SSD if you don't have one - makes a big difference.

Count on using about 60GB for every win 7 installation. I usually count 100GB per VM that runs windows because you want to be able to use it too and have software installed etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2018, 06:26 AM   #37
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,241
Should the question not be, are there any applications today that require a physical COM port ?

I personally only know 2 protocols that required physical COM ports.
Siemens TTY, and its associated RS232/TTY adapter.
AB DH485 and its associated PIC adapter.
For these protocols today there are lowcost alternative adapters with USB. So even for these protocols the need doesnt really exist any more.

Are there any protocol today for which there is only a serial adapter and it requires a real COM port ?
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2018, 07:51 AM   #38
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
Should the question not be, are there any applications today that require a physical COM port ?

I personally only know 2 protocols that required physical COM ports.
Siemens TTY, and its associated RS232/TTY adapter.
AB DH485 and its associated PIC adapter.
For these protocols today there are lowcost alternative adapters with USB. So even for these protocols the need doesnt really exist any more.

Are there any protocol today for which there is only a serial adapter and it requires a real COM port ?
Agree and that was my point, the only thing I needed a real port in the past 6 months was a Danfoss drive did not have time to see why the USB would not work and I needed to use a PIC for the odd ball baud rate on a 5/03 that I needed to get the program out for a customer, but other then that I have been using VM's (W7) running W10

I also use Step5 for Windows so I use a USB adapter with the TTY adapter
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2018, 10:38 AM   #39
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,796
Beside the AB PIC box, I ran into one portable test equipment software that doesn't work unless it's COM1. Good thing that USA19HS USB/Serial adopter comes with software that allows one to select the COM port assignment.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2018, 10:52 AM   #40
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
Beside the AB PIC box, I ran into one portable test equipment software that doesn't work unless it's COM1. Good thing that USA19HS USB/Serial adopter comes with software that allows one to select the COM port assignment.
IIRC that is readily configurable in Windows anyway (without bespoke software that is).
  Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2018, 07:33 PM   #41
Izabela
Member
United States

Izabela is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Its a tech support cop out

Most GOOD QUALITY usb to serial converters should work.

In defense to support groups they are given difficult situations to deal with, if they aren't confident in what they are doing or whatever they just can't admit it they they don't know whats really going on . .. .so it must be that you need a real com port
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2018, 08:26 AM   #42
Gladiator
Member
Canada

Gladiator is offline
 
Gladiator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 10
I use the Panasonic CF-53 with Win7 32 bit as my workhorse. I have two on hand at all times in addition to a much newer Lenovo P70 and an older Toshiba Tecra with XP for some of the antiques out there.

The CF-53 is a legacy port dream as is. New old stock and refurbished these are worth every penny. I've looked after these and never did try the CF-54, which had serial com db9 as an option rather than standard.

If you need something built today with a com port, I would consider the Dell Rugged 5414 and I would get the one with dual serial and dual ethernet and PCMCIA.

http://www.dell.com/ae/business/p/la...5414-laptop/pd
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2018, 03:08 PM   #43
geofftheelectrician
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

geofftheelectrician is offline
 
geofftheelectrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 10
I use a Panasonic Toughbook at home and work. They come with native RS232 COM ports set as COM1. You don’t have to buy the fully ruggedized unit. My personal is a CF52 that is about 8 years old now and is still going strong so it was well worth the $2300 I paid for it. I replaced the battery 2 years ago and put a 1TB HDD in and Windows10. My work one is a CF53 or 54 hI think) and is a lot slimmer but still very rugged. The newer ones you may have to put the RS232 in as an option, but they’re still available. Alternatively, the manufacturers often have USB ->RS232 adapter for a couple of hundred dollars that will work with their brand. Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2018, 09:21 PM   #44
plchris
Member
United States

plchris is offline
 
plchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: TN
Posts: 27
I bought an hp 650 G1 that had barely been used off eBay. Has an i5 processor but you can get them with an i7. Real RS232 set as COM1. I added 16gb ram and a SSD. I think i have around $500 in it. If you do go with a 650 G1, they do have some without the serial port, so double check.

Last edited by plchris; January 23rd, 2018 at 09:34 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLC 5/05 & RSLinx hhuong LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 October 19th, 2015 12:31 PM
L32E Ethernet port fault rocksalt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 4th, 2015 11:21 AM
Upgrade PV600 (RS-232-DH485) comm. to ML1500 to PV+ nicer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 July 1st, 2015 05:05 AM
Connect laptop > ML1000 problem Martindag LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 1st, 2009 08:58 PM
GE Versamax & QuickPanel Communication Problem Gustavo. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 13th, 2009 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


.