You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 11th, 2018, 01:24 PM   #1
wabc1234
Member
Mexico

wabc1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Juarez
Posts: 1
Thermocouple on 1762-if4?

Greetings to everyone,

my question is: How can I Read a thermpcouple typej ona an analog module (1762-if) on an allen bradley micrologix 1400 (rs logix 500) and convert the signal to temperature?

thanks in ahead
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2018, 01:37 PM   #2
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,120
You will need a temperature transmitter to convert the thermocouple to a voltage or current (prefer current) see link

https://www.google.com/search?q=temp...hrome&ie=UTF-8
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2018, 01:40 PM   #3
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 251
- A thermocouple doesn't measure an absolute temperature, it measure the difference between a hot junction and a cold junction and that module has no compensation for the temperature of the cold junction, and that introduces a big error.

- The voltage generated by a J thermocouple is at most 30-40 mV and with a input module with a range of -10V to + 10V the resolution you have will be horrible bad.

In other words, to connect thermocouples directly to a PLC, you need a thermocouple input module.

Another alternative is to use an intermediate converter/transmitter with J thermocouple input and 0-10V or current output
__________________
Suppanel HMI
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem in measuring of a panel room temperature by a thermocouple connected with a P AB2005 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 27th, 2018 12:07 PM
PWM Signal from IR Thermocouple to trigger PLC Input colehan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 8th, 2013 04:16 AM
micrologix 1400 and 1762 if4 heroek LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 26th, 2013 03:39 AM
It8 Thermocouple Problem parag uike LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 15th, 2006 03:06 AM
Thermocouple readout fluctuations leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 March 5th, 2005 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


.