Autotransformer Application Question

zai_jnr

Dear All,

This is my first time using auto transformer in motor system design.
From my reading, the sequence of starting auto transformer is (using 3 magnetic contactors in system design) :

1) Initially, The Star Switch is closed
2) Then, The Start Switch is closed to energize the autotransformer
3) The motor is connected at a selected reduced voltage tap on the autotransformer and start to turn and accelerate.
4) After a predetermined period the Star Switch will open.
5) After a mili-sec delay, the Run Switch will close, connecting full line voltage to the motor.
6) The Start Switch will then open and the motor will be at operational speed.

My question is,
1) how to to determine value of step no 4?
2) what the ideal delay timer for step no 5?

Autotransfomer that I'm working is for start up run of motor compressor . All the sequence control by PLC.

Thanks a lot for ur reply.

Auto transformer starter? Have forgotten all that stuff - use a VSD. Used to rewind these things in the 1960s - and secondary resistance starters. Google should bring up some hits - have not seen one for 50 years!

Depending on the load. The normal range is between 05-5 seconds. The best option is to put a tong tester on the motor and determine when the motor amps are stable, this is the point at which to switch to full voltage.Start a little low and work from there. Too long in star is no good

An autotransformer is a really slow starter, so on average take 10-15 seconds.
make the time adjustable, and change it in the field, when the compressor is running on 80% of rpm you can switch over, any later is no problem, it just heats up the transformer.
You also need a restarter blocking time, to prevent restarts within 15 minutes or so.

Actually, I'm already set delay timer 5 sec to switch from star sw to run sw.

The problem is, transformer heat up then got smoke, fortunately, OCR function to cutoff the power to auto transformer.