Bar code scanner with ML 1500

advmin

Hello Guys,
I am a beginner in PLC programming.

I am trying to add a Zebra DS457 FIXED MOUNT IMAGER with MICROLOGIX 1500 LRP to successfully select a particular program for a particular-sized tray

There are different trays of various sizes coming through the conveyor. The filling should be done inside the tray differently according to the size.
So the plc program would be different for different sizes.

My plan is to put a unique barcode for a particular size, so that when the imager reads a particular bar code ( say bar code for a 90mm tray ) the program to fill the 90mm tray should start.

1. How to connect the imager with the ML1500 since it only had rs 232 port (no ethernet)
2. How the output from the imager can energize an input in PLC so that a particular program selection is possible?
3. Is there any other suggestion for this process?

Please help me with your opinions and views

cheers.

I cannot comment on the communications it will depend on what the scanner can output, the selection of a program is the easy bit (dependant on how you write your program or modify an existing one.
A simplistic way is to have recipes in the PLC so when a barcode is read, the barcode selects the parameters & puts those into the running recipe for example it may be that these are position, rotation, wrap cycle or what ever, it will depend on the actual barcode information comming in, without knowing this it is impossible to show you how to control the machine actions.
Some examples:
Bar code contains the pack size & probably other data that is not required.
Extract the pack size use that to set say for example from a position for that size.
if the different pack sizes use set programs i.e. you have seperate programs for each pack size then just with simple compare of the barcode with a list of stored codes select a program.