Bar code scanner with ML 1500

advmin

Hello Guys,

I am trying to add a Zebra DS457 FIXED MOUNT IMAGER with MICROLOGIX 1500 LRP

1. How to connect the imager with the ML1500 since it only had an RS-232 port (no ethernet)
When I tried connecting the scanner to RS-232, it's not getting powered up.
How can I establish communication between the ML 1500 and the scanner?

2. How the output from the imager can energize an input in PLC so that a particular program selection is possible?

( one of our colleague suggested using raspberry pi. Connecting the scanner to RASpi and programming it in a way to fire output to some relays.)Is this a better way?

Please share your opinions and suggestions

cheers.

Thank you L33er for your reply.
I read the manual but still confused about how it works.

How the data read by the scanner could be used to select a particular program in plc?

How can we set the barcode scanner to energize the inputs of plc?

(I am a newbie in automation, apologies for the flaws)

cheers.

I have the USB - RS 232 cable with me now.

I am going to order the CBL-58918-02 with the power adaptor soon.

How the data read by the scanner could be used to select a particular program in plc?

How can we set the barcode scanner to energize the inputs of plc?

When it comes to the software side, how can we implement this?

cheers

Once you got the proper hardware, connect to a PC and set it up so that you can read the barcode, once that is completed, then I'll give you the next step.

Perfect.
Thankyou L33er.

It will be delivered tomorrow itself. I will update you once I have done what you suggested.

cheers.

hello all,
As suggested I connected the scanner to the pc using those cables and it's working perfectly similar to the keyboard input when I checked it with the notepad.

I have downloaded the Zebra app called 123 scan for the configuration.

So, please share your thoughts on how to move forward and the steps to collaborate with ML 1500.

cheers