CommonWealth Scientific Corporation, Robot chamber

jack17

Hi all,
I'm a computer science grad student.
I'm currently working on this Robot Chamber, which is a product of CS corportaion.
At one stage, the open command click works and triggers the opening of a valve in the chamber. Whereas the closing doesnt work.

The sytem is developed with C programming.
I have no clue how to start working on thi problem.
Can anybody suggest me a way.

I can work on C programs, but i dont know..how to check the PLC's.
Is there any techinical advise available here from a person has an expertise in a similar domain.

Jack
NY

If this is a "C-Program" running in a PLC... one way or another, you are going to have to get your hands on the "Source Code".

Once you do that, you can look into how the program works.

However... in order to fix anything in the code you'll need the appropriate C-Compiler. (Not all compilers are acceptable to all PLCs).

You'll probably need the particular PLC Software as well.

C-Code is great... if you have the source, and the proper compiler.

What kind of PLC is this?

its GE fanuc 90-30 series programmable controller.
yes i have the source code, the interface for the application is all written in C. But as i have not worked on communicating with the PLC from a C program, i was looking for advice on this area.
I'm trying to understand the program flow and have traced almost 80% of the flow , except that i'm stuck at the point where the PLC is made a contact in the program.
I see some thing in the code that the commands clicked from the interface, is stored in a shared memory. I believe the PLC should be reading this memory or so.(not sure).

Its not like I know nothing about it, even if i dont , i still persist to fix the problem.
All i wanted is some useful tips from the people experienced in this field.

jack
NY