DLR network topology recomendations

RickyRud

Hi everyone,

I have never done DLR networks before and would love to get some feedback on some of the design methodologies that the hardware engineers in my office are playing with.

We have two isolated subsystems with 37 devices each. These sub-systems have their own PLC (1756-L72) on a 10 Rack chassis. The devices communicate to the PLC via an 1756-EN2TR card in their respective DLR networks (All devices are DLR capable). We need to find a way for these 2 PLCs on seperate subsystems to communicate with each other (for produced/consumed tag purposes).

Is it possible to add a 2nd EN2TR card on their respective PLC racks and connect them in a second ring network? In other words, is it possible to have two parallel ring networks?

Thanks!!

Yes, that's absolutely possible. Although I'd question the need for a ring network with only two devices on it - I'd just run a single cable.

Yes, that's absolutely possible. Although I'd question the need for a ring network with only two devices on it - I'd just run a single cable.

Here's my "but what if...":

Adding future devices into the ring would be straightforward - open the ring, insert device, close the ring, continue, no downtime.

I imagine you want to do:

Code:
L72  EN2TR  EN2TR
      | |    | |
L72  EN2TR  EN2TR

I have no way of testing this, but I imagine you would need to set up an I/O tree with BOTH views of the remote processor, eg. PLANT2PLC_NETWORK1 PLANT2PLC_NETWORK2.

You would then need to have two tags per consumed tag, and write logic to compare them as well as take into account the comms lost flag.

Here's my "but what if...":

Adding future devices into the ring would be straightforward - open the ring, insert device, close the ring, continue, no downtime.