Help going online with SLC 5/04

chrisg408

Hello Everyone,

I'm a pretty green PLC tech and I need help logging on to some SLC 5/04 PLCs.
I have a 1747-UIC and 1747-CP3 cables and I'm using RS-232 DF-1 Devices Drivers on RS Linx Classic. I'm trying to use the auto-configurate, but RS Linx will not find the PLC. I also tried DH485 UIC Devices drivers and that didn't work either. I've used these methods in the past and didn't have much trouble going online with SLC PLCs.

I have the back up programs for these PLC, so I have access to Channel Configuration settings.
Com setting CP5.PNG

Com setting CP5 1.PNG

Com setting CP5 2.PNG

Com setting CP5 3.PNG

Com setting CP8.PNG

I have more image to upload, but I only get 5.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Chris

The 5/04 has two communication ports. The D shaped 9 pin is a serial port RS232 and can be configured several different ways. The round port and the 3 pin connector are the DH+ port.

In order to use the DH+ port, you would need a DH+ communication adapter or some sort of way to bridge to it. The most common for simple use with a modern laptop is the 1784-U2DHP. These are very expensive.

The 1747-UIC is useful for connecting to Allen Bradley hardware that uses DH485 which is a serial protocol that can use RS485 electrical spec or RS232, so it won't work with the 9 pin port unless that port is already configured for DH485 protocol.

You need a generic USB to RS232 adapter (or a real serial port if you have an ancient or specialized laptop with one) and the 1747-CP3 cable you already have in order to connect to the 9 pin port with DF1 Full Duplex protocol.

Note that some USB to serial adapters do not play nicely with RSLinx DF1 Autoconfigure.

I carry 3 different USB to serial adapters of different types because I deal with a lot of odd serial devices and I have a favorite that works with every device I have run across except one. This adapter does work well with RSLinx DF1 autoconfigure.