PanelView Plus 600 - Alarms print to file

R_C

Is it possible to log alarms on a USB drive from a PV600?
Like trigger time and acknowledge time.

First, let's be sure we're talking about a PanelView Plus 600, not an obsolete (it hurts to write that) PanelView 600 Standard terminal.

The PanelView Standard terminals had a handy serial line printer function, which the Plus terminals don't have. I even have a brilliant little data logger that I can plug in to capture that serial stream instead of sending it physically to a printer.

In FactoryTalk View ME, the Alarm subsystem (unlike the Data Log system or the ActiveX data logger features) cannot natively write to removable media. It will always write to internal flash memory.

However, you can extract the Alarm files from the terminal, then convert them to a readable format (CSV) with the RSView Enterprise Log File Viewer.

I have some recent detailed experience with doing this, so I can provide some detail that will supplement the RA Knowledgebase document that describes this method and process, AID # 33924 RSView Enterprise File Viewer Utility (Access Level: Everyone).

First, let's be sure we're talking about a PanelView Plus 600, not an obsolete (it hurts to write that) PanelView 600 Standard terminal.

The PanelView Standard terminals had a handy serial line printer function, which the Plus terminals don't have. I even have a brilliant little data logger that I can plug in to capture that serial stream instead of sending it physically to a printer.

In FactoryTalk View ME, the Alarm subsystem (unlike the Data Log system or the ActiveX data logger features) cannot natively write to removable media. It will always write to internal flash memory.

However, you can extract the Alarm files from the terminal, then convert them to a readable format (CSV) with the RSView Enterprise Log File Viewer.