Problem with transition from Mitsubishi A to L series

gurar

I have gotten help with some issues in the past on this forum, and I'm hoping someone can help me again. My company is an OEM that used the Mitsubishi A-series PLC with several Beijer HMIs in a portable industrial machine for over 20 years. This machine may be stored without power for months at a time. Thus, neglecting to change the PLC battery prior to its expiration causes headaches- loss of machine data as well as the operating software. In those cases, I reload the software with Medoc, E-Designer, and I-Designer software. I'm not a programmer; reloads are one of many customer support functions I have to keep the machines running.

Also, we have had software upgrades from time to time and I have tried to get these installed on as many machines as possible, one way or another. During the upgrades, the machine's test data was not affected. I presume it had been stored in a different memory area.

We transitioned to the L-series a few years ago and our software engineer rewrote the machine's control program. He retired soon after the transition and sadly passed not long afterward. So, that knowledge base is gone. When some changes had to be made to the new software, I noticed a few things that our other software engineers have not been able to figure out.

• I experimented with removing the PLC battery for a week or so with power off and found that none of the software was affected, only the PLC clock.
  • When new software is loaded to the L-CPU via the SD card, it wipes out all of the customer data as well. We've had some folks speak with Mitsubishi, but nothing has come of it.
So I have a few questions.