Rotary Encoders

MartB

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have been asked to provide our mechanical department with a part number for a rotary encoder. They are specifically asking for an absolute rotary encoder with a hollow shaft (size to be discussed at a later date), and with an internal gearing so they can achieve an internal ratio of their choosing to avoid having any external mechanical sprocket arrangements (for example, one rotation can be 20 degrees etc).
I have little to no experience in this area and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
I have done a little research and found some offerings from Sick Stegmann and BEI but none of them mention any internal gearing (in fact I'm starting to wonder if this is even an option as I've never heard of it either, but I like to be proved wrong).

Any help anyone could give in this area would be appreciated.

As a side note we'll be using it in conjunction with a Compact Logix processor. At this point I'm thinking an SSI card would be the best way to go as I haven't seen any ethernet offerings (ethernet would be ideal by the way) but again I'm open to suggestion here.

Many thanks.

I have used encoders that you can select the number of pulses per revolution but have never heard of a gear ratio. Depending on how fast the encoder turns decides the frequency of the pulses. So the faster the RPM's the lower the pulse counts I used. I do not remeber the brand name but I do remeber I got mine from my local AB Rep. You should be able to do the same.

I've already got a call in to my local AB guy (to pick his brains as much as anything else) but I think he's on vacation this week, and I don't really have the luxury of waiting for him.

Thanks for all the great links - still going through all the information I've gathered, but it seems like the internal gearing thing would be accomplished by getting a programmable encoder (at least that's the conclusion I'm drawing to at the moment).