Siemens - Device discovery problem

GazzaSpace

Ciao guys,

I'm not used to program on Siemens PLCs, but sometimes I have to.
I'm experiencing a strange problem when I try to connect to a PLC.

I'm working on a 2021 MacBook Pro (M1 chip), running Parallels Desktop and a Win11 based VM.
I'm trying to connect via ethernet cable (I do have a USB-C/Eth adapter connected to my Mac) and on my VM I have the network set up to connect to the PLC (S7-1500).

When I try to ping the CPU, I don't see any kind of problem, but when I run the devices discovery operations, it tells me it could not find any node.

Any suggestions?
Thanks

I dont know Parallels, but I have some experience with VMs.

When you use the 'accessible nodes' TIA scans the network at ISO protocol level, not TCP/IP. This may or may not be possible from your VM. In my PC with VMware I have to setup the virtual network adapter with the real MAC address of the PC.
Since you use a USB-to-Ethernet adapter, does this get assigned to the VM, and not the host ? It should not be necessary to setup a virtual ethernet card in that case. It is easier to use an USB-to-Ethernet adapter than an integral ethernet card in the host PC.
Maybe someone with experience with Parallels can provide further advice.

If you just need to go online from TIA to a PLC that has already been loaded with a hardware configuration, select to go online with 'device with the same address'. This uses TCP/IP and should work if you can ping the PLC.

Hello Jesper, thanks for your answer.

When I connect the adapter to the USB port, the OS asks me if I want to connect it to the real machine or to the VM.
I tried both ways and the difference is that if I choose to connect the adapter straight to the VM, I can see one more network (that has my adapter as source). I tried to use this setup (changing the Siemens communication configuration in Win control panel) but nothing changed.