TIA v14 LAD - Read access to parameter is invalid

ohlylo

Hello, I'm working on a program I migrated from S7 v5.6 to TIA v14. I am failing the consistency checks on my safety program with the following error:

Code:
Read access to parameter 'param' is invalid because it is also used for write access in the safety program. Data from standard user program may only be read or written.

The error pops up within the safety program itself at an S-coil. Cross-referencing the param tag shows no read accesses anywhere - only writes. So, I'm stumped as to why the program is complaining about reads, especially since the error is located at an S-coil.

Any ideas what I may be overlooking here?

Is the tag part of a structure?

I'm not an expert on LAD or PLCs by any means here so bear with me if I'm not understanding. The tag is in the STEP7 classic symbols table within a station in the project. It is referenced in an FC and a couple FBs as well as in the safety program - as mentioned, all writes.

Does that answer the question?

Wait, the tag isn't read anywhere in the program at all? What is the point of it then?

What kind of tag is it? DB? M? I? Q?

I'd recommend running those same consistency checks in Simatic Manager. Do a Compile from the Safety Editor, see if it reports the same issue.

Wait, the tag isn't read anywhere in the program at all? What is the point of it then?

What kind of tag is it? DB? M? I? Q?

I'd recommend running those same consistency checks in Simatic Manager. Do a Compile from the Safety Editor, see if it reports the same issue.

It's an M. Again, I'm completely winging this, so apologies if I sound clueless, because I am :)

The tag is an indicator as to whether a fault reset is required. When I open the cross-reference info for the tag in TIA, the only entries in the list are Write. Is there somewhere else I should check?