Flashing Bits and non-flashing output - RSlogix

mitureg

Hello there, Sorry I am quite new to this... thank you for taking the time to answer my thread.

I have a small problem trying to get an output light flashing prior to pressing an operator ACCEPT button IP1.

The output Amber Light needs to flash when the "Plant Alarm Condition" arise, but stop when the Operator Accept Button IP1 is pressed.

Is this the correct way of programming a flasher?
The problem is that the output keep flashing even when the Accept Button is pressed (!)

There is several instance of the Amber Light output OP0 within the rungs (see the second image). I think it might have something to do with my problem.

The same output is activated in one rung while in the other rung it is not (!), hence probably causing the output to flash as an indicator of that??

Is there any solution, is this a design mistake?

Many thanks!

Annunciator3b.jpg Annunciator3d.jpg

Get rid of the double-coil syndrome. Normally any one Output should appear only one time in any program. You will like this method much better because it works.

Notice that your Operator Accept Button MUST be a maintained-contact type (stays ON when pressed ON), otherwise this logic will not work. If your button is a momentary-contact type (only ON while pressed), then you will need to add a rung for an Internal B3 relay to seal-in your button press, and use the new B3 in place of the Accept Button on both rungs.

Mitureg's Flashing Bits.JPG

Last edited:
Hi Lancie, thank you for your help. Much appreciated. I did the modification adding a B3 seal-in for the press button. Did I do it correctly... any thoughts?

I also have a latch/unlatch as well for a "Flag". I am not too sure if it would be preferable to use a B3 for that one too.

Does everything look acceptable?

Regards,
Alex

Here's the full program in 2 posts.

Annunciator4a.jpg

Does everything look acceptable?