Newbie MD29 Connect Problem Control Techniques Mentor Drives

Darylbnet

Hi all, Not the way I would like to splash the board, but we are in need of some simple assistance...
I have an MD29 card on our Master Drive unit a M350R-14 ICD 168HP using Soft Ver. 050500 from Control Techniques...
We need to re-program that MD29 card with our Bin file, but our problem is no matter how we try to connect the PC or Laptop DB-9 direct connection will not communicate with the Card or Drive...
We are using DPL ToolKit, to reload the drive, but it is stuck in AutoLoad mode, and will not allow for selection of Com ports...
I have the info pulled for Mentor MD29 Menu 14 of the Drive if that helps?
All paper work here suggests it was setup for RS232, connecting to PL1 of the MD29...
ANY Help or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated... Thanks... D...o_O

MD29 Card M350 Mentor Drive HELP?

I know this stuff is obsolete, but does anyone have any input as to where to start on this problem ? Tks. D... o_O

Ohh took ages to find a VM with this stuff on it - Designed for Win 95 updated to Win XP No service packs

Parameter #14.11 MUST = 0 (If 1 Disables Toolkit Comms)
#14.17 = 0

What version of DPL Toolkit are you using?
By default, the Toolkit is configured to use COM1 (communications port 1) on the PC to talk to the MD29/UD70. If you wish to alter this, choose the Project menu, then choose Configure then COM PORT from the sub-menu. Finally, choose the COM port you wish to use.

I have done a MD29 once - UD70 (AC motor) many times. Same CPU etc just a different form factor to suit the AC Drive

The RS 232 port is a 9 Pin Female - Pinout is:
PIN 2 is RxD
PIN 3 is TxD
PIN 5 0V

I cannot remember what cable to use - I think that it is a straight through

Note: if the MD29 has lost everything then you must download the .SYS file before the .bin

Last edited: