SQO and SQL

toarts

Hello everyone: This is my first time posting a thread to this website. I am just starting to learn PLC (RSLogix Micro Starter lite). I am now trying to learn SQL and SQL sequencer. I understand how the components work i.e. file, destination, length and so on. however when I actually write the logic in the rung I couldnt get it to work. The way I wrote the logic was, i called an input and called the SQO instruction at the output. I know it is not as simple as calling the SQO instruction at the output of the rung. there is gotta be more into it. can someone help give some hint or sample. thanks toarts

welcome to the forum ...

which Ladder File did you put the rung in? ... if it's NOT located in Ladder File #2, then you need to put a JSR instruction in Ladder File #2 to "call" the file that you used into "execution" ... if that's not your problem, try to ZIP your RSS file and attach it here to another post ... we'll be glad to help you get it working ...

and the link below should give you an example of the SQO ...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?postid=63303#post63303

survival tip: hold off on the SQL - and get the SQO working first by manually "loading" the bit patterns into the file ... then (if you want to go further) start experimenting with the SQL ... hint: that instruction is NOT very often used in the "real-world" ...

Last edited:
SQL SQO Help

Hello Ron, thanks for your help. I did look at the sample link you provided. let me understand what your logic does. pls correct me if i am wrong. You used the T4 DN bit to enable SQO intruction. so everytime the T4/DN become high, N7 bit goes high i.e. N7:1 to N7:10 since the lenght is 10. what does the copy instruction does N7:10 to N7:20?