Using the analog input of powerflex 525 VFD

zmmarsad

Hi,

I have a potentiometer connected to a siemens micromaster 440 to control a servo motor speed and they are not connected to any PLC. Now, I am trying to get the potentiometer to another panel where I have a powerflex 525, PLC, and a HMI. Can I connect the analog input of the siemens drive to the powerflex 525 analog input and control the speed from HMI? Given the situation that I do not have any analog input left to the PLC.

As I am a beginner, there might be some vague questions. If you need further information, please let me know.

Thank you

An Analog output connects to an analog input, an analog input does not connect to analog input.

HMI's generally do not have I/O, the PLC has I/O. Does the PLC have an analog output?

It is common to control the speed of a drive from manual input on an HMI that communicates to the PLC whose analog output signal is connected to a drive.

It is not a wave-a-magic-wand implementation.

What may be possible is if the Siemens drive has an analogue output you could set this to give an analogue referencing the speed then connect this to the 525, however, you would ideally need to check that these analogue outputs/inputs are isolated or they might smoke.

Thank you for your response!

The PLC does not have any analog output. That's why I am trying to use the powerflex 525 analog ports. How do I connect this two drives?

Welcome to the forum, zmmarsad!

Thank you for your response!

The PLC does not have any analog output. That's why I am trying to use the powerflex 525 analog ports. How do I connect this two drives?
Sparky didn't mention anything about a PLC analog output but rather a Siemens drive analog output.

It is unclear whether you want to:
A. Use one potentiometer to control both the Siemens drive AND the PowerFlex 525
B. Use the HMI to control the PowerFlex speed
C. Something else

Please clarify what you want to control each drive speed.

Last edited: